Weight…so what’s the big deal?

on

IMG_0187So, weightloss.

just hearing those words makes you want to cringe, right?

yeah, me too.

i think there are a lot of misconceptions when it comes to weightloss.

there are a million different “diets” to choose from, and no one diet works the same for every person.

and yet, often times people feel totally stressed out trying to figure out which diet works for them.

they go all out and try one diet, only to have it not work for them, and then they feel like complete failures; which in my experience, only leads to stress eating.

i’ve done more than my share of “diet hopping”, and i feel like I’m finally getting to the point where I’m learning what works for my body, and not worrying about what works for someone else.

to be honest, it’s freeing to not have all that pressure on myself anymore.

I’m sure many of you have heard of the famous “whole 30” elimination diet.  Melissa Hartwig, the cofounder of Whole 30, has written a wonderful book called Food Freedom Forever; this is an amazing book that really helps you evaluate your relationship with food, as well as teaches you how to pay attention to how the foods you eat make you feel.

for years now, I’ve wrestled with how i should be eating, rather than allowing myself to actually paying attention to how certain foods make me feel.

slowly but surely, I’m learning how to eat right for my body, but unfortunately, it’s still a challenge for me.

Because you see, even though I know that my body can’t process gluten, i still continued to eat it constantly.  And within a month of adding gluten back into my diet, i had gained 10 pounds, and trust me, I wasn’t happy about it.

on top of my struggle with gluten, I’ve started blowing up like a balloon when i eat simple carbs.  Nice, huh?  It’s so fun to get old and have your body start rejecting foods that you’ve eaten your whole life.

anyway, i feel like I’ve been all over the place with this post!  Two of my kids have been playing around next to me — rather loudly, i must say– and I’m having a hard time forming my thoughts.

the main point that i wanted to make with this post is that we’re all different and losing weight looks different for each of us.  Rather than trying to do the newest “fad” diet, i would encourage you (and myself) to listen to your body, and do what works for YOU.

 

Leave a Reply

