“Off days” are ok…

on

IMG_0190I’ve been a bit “off” today, and my eating is totally reflecting it.

my kids have been sick with a cold/virus and I’m clearly fighting it now.  I’ve been exhausted all day, and i have no energy.  And all I’ve wanted to eat is comfort foods…well, my version of comfort foods, that is.

in case you’re wondering, i had doughnuts for breakfast, and i had a coke with my lunch.  Around mid-afternoon, i hit Panera and got myself a frozen caramel drink (they’re heavenly!).

So, i guess it’s no surprise that I’m already way over my calories for the day, and i totally blew it with carbs.

and you know what?  I’m okay with that.

normally, i would be overwhelmed with guilt and would feel like a total failure.

but to be honest, I’m so sick of letting food rule me.  I’ve been eating well all week, up until today, and i refuse to feel guilty for relaxing today and eating foods that make me happy.  You know what i mean?

one day of eating off track isn’t going to ruin my progress unless i allow it to.

in the past–actually the very recent past–I would’ve let an off day derail me literally for weeks.  Isn’t that crazy?  But it happens, and I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one it happens to.

In the book i mentioned in my last post, Food Freedom Forever, the author stresses that how you eat 80% of the time is going to determine your success at weightloss and healthy eating.  And she’s totally right.  I lost 40 pounds about 9 years ago through Weight Watchers, and as long as i stayed within my calorie range at least 5 days a week, i still dropped weight.

i know how determined I’ve been to stay on track this week, so tomorrow I will start my day off with my protein smoothie, and will take it one meal at a time.

speaking of my protein smoothie, I thought maybe I’d share my recipe here on the blog in case any of you are looking for a protein drink that actually tastes good.

The protein powder that i use is called Garden of Life Raw Organic  Meal, chocolate flavor, and i buy it on Amazon.

Ok, here’s the recipe:

2-Cups Almond milk (i prefer chocolate almond milk)

1-scoop Garden of Life chocolate powder

1-tsp cocoa powder

handful of walnuts or pecans

banana

1/2-Cup frozen strawberries

1/2-Cup frozen blueberries

1/4-Cup ice cubes

Blend until smooth.  This makes two servings, so i usually put one serving in the frig to drink the next morning; when I’m ready to drink it, i stir it up and it tastes just as good as the day i made it.  It tastes like a chocolate milk shake and i actually love it.

Here are the nutrition details if you’re interested:

this is for one serving.

Calories: 330

Fat: 9.5g

Carbs: 45g

Fiber: 11.3g

Protein: 14g

FYI, the protein powder is filled with loads of nutrients:

IMG_0838I’ve been drinking this almost every morning for the past week, and it totally holds me over until lunch.

Let me know if you try the protein smoothie; I’d love to hear your thoughts!

oh, and for the record, my hubby offered to bring home take & bake pizzas for dinner, and i totally plan to have some.  Because pizza.

Leave a Reply

